Call us on: 01782 561782 or Mobile: 07866 412400     Email:

link  facebook link

On the 20th of May there will be some changes being made to the way faults and problems are to be classified in an MOT test. Faults will now be noted as minor, major or dangerous and will have an impact on all Class 3,4,5, and 7 vehicles.

What brought it about?

The change was brought about to keep the UK in line with the new EU directive known as the European Union Roadworthiness Package.  The specific change being that the Act states “a person is guilty of an offence if he uses, or causes or permits another to use, a motor vehicle or trailer on a road when… the condition of the motor vehicle or trailer, or of its accessories or equipment… is such that the use of the motor vehicle or trailer involves a danger of injury to any person”.

Affect on drivers?

A fail on your vehicle before the date will still be a fail after the date, nothing has been lost or removed from the faults list. The major amendment to the test is the new classification of ‘dangerous ‘, if any fault on your vehicle is classified as this then the fault will need to be fixed before you are legally allowed to drive it in any circumstance.

Additional changes for types of diesel


As well as the classification change there will also be an additional change to the allowed limit for emissions for diesel vehicles. This limit will be decreasing and any vehicle that has a particulate filter fitted will be inspected more thoroughly and if any smoke at all is emitted the vehicle will instantly fail its MOT.